Am a Owner

Ebonyi State University

Region: Abakaliki Country: Nigeria

The Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MD&CN) has approved the re-accreditation of College of Health Sciences of Ebonyi State University (EBSU) to continue training of Medical Students. This came as a result of the reaccredidation visit to the College on Tuesday 15th May 2012.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University Engr prof F .I Idike (OON) and the provost, College of Health Sciences. Prof C.A. Attah (OON) have commenced action to ensure that all the areas of observed deficiencies are addressed in line with acceptable minimum standards.

Ebonyi State University Medical School has been reputed as the flagship in the south East Zone, having recorded tremendous successes over the past 12 years.

Ebonyi State University was founded in 1996 in Abakaliki, Nigeria. It is ranked third in the country among state-owned universities by the National University Commission, based on the quality of its academic staff.

It is housed in campuses formerly belonging to the Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) and the Anambra State University of Science and Technology (ASUTECH). These campuses provide a temporary accommodation while a new campus is built on Enugu Road, Abakaliki. Executive Governor Dr Sam Ominyi Egwu has pledged to ensure the full relocation of the university's faculties to the new site before he his tenure expires in May 2007.

The institutions's first Vice-Chancellor is Professor Fidelis Ogah.

The university's medical faculty was established in 1991 as ESUT Faculty of Health Sciences. Many of its facilities were developed in response to a Guinea worm pandemic; the Abakaliki Specialist Hospital, created for this purpose, was remodelled to become Ebonyi State University's primary teaching hospital. It was subsequently granted accreditation by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) for the training of medical students and resident doctors. Since it became part of Ebonyi State University, the medical school has received considerable funding from the Ebonyi government.

Ebonyi state university is located at the capital of Ebonyi state, with four campuses(CAS,CHS,ISIEKE and the Permenite site). What is today known as Ebonyi State University (EBSU), started on July 30, 1980 when the Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) was originally founded as Anambra State university of Technology (ASUTECH), by the then Anambra State House of Assembly Law No. 7 of 1980.

In 1985, the ASUTECH Edict No 20 of 1985, created a four campus structure and the Abakaliki Campus, housing Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine. Consequently, Abakaliki Campus took off with a pre-science programme and was later enabled to run courses in Agricultural and Basic Basic Medicine Sciences.

When Ebonyi state was carved out from Enugu state on 1 October 1996, the Abakaliki Campus of the then ESUT was upgraded to Ebonyi State University College by the Ebonyi State Edict No of 1998; though remained affiliated to its parent University, ESUT.

The major landmark that launched the University into its present status came in 1999 when Dr Sam O. Egwu, Governor of Ebonyi State announced the upgrading of the University College to a multidisciplinary university and establishing statute received executive consent of His Excellency on January 14, 2000. The university has relocated to the PERM SITE, where faculties like social science,management science and arts are found.

Ebonyi State University Degree Programs :


  • Bachelor Degree
  • MBBS


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Science (Nursing)


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology

Video Presentation

Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State, Nigeria

Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State, Nigeria

Contact Details

Address: P.M.B 53, Abakaliki,  Ebonyi State, Nigeria



Find Your Degree!

News Letter Subscribe

Subscribe to the subject Ebonyi State University