Am a Owner

Egerton University

Region: Nakuru Country: Kenya

The University Management established Faculty of Health Sciences in January, 2002. Prior to this, however, a Diploma in Clinical Medicine and Surgery Programme had been started in September, 1999 and administered under the Faculty of Science until late 2000 when it started functioning independently and evolving as a nucleus upon which the Faculty was finally established. All together their are five programmes.

The main objective of the Faculty is to develop and train high quality human resource, carry out problem oriented research and participate in planning and implementing of outreach programmes in health related disciplines for national development.

Following a series of consultations and planning activities between the Ministry of Health and relevant stakeholders in the health sector, the University found it necessary to train various health professionals to meet the increasing demand for qualified human resource for the growing health needs of the Kenyan society.
The Faculty will continue to provide a forum for stakeholders in the health sector and related areas to share experiences and to discuss pertinent issues that are critical in the planning, development and management of our health services.

The Faculty Objectives are:

  • Train health professionals who should be able to perform at the highest level of professional competence, both academically and practically;
  • Train students who are able to apply the process of critical thinking and reasoning to various health problems;
  • Be able to plan and implement training and educational programmes for the community health worker;
  • Conduct research and implement outreach programmes to the community health needs;
  • Train graduates who are innovative, ethical and able to contribute to the development‚ of own skills, knowledge and attitude.

The Faculty Dean is the Administrative and Academic Head of the Faculty of Health Sciences. She is assisted by Assistant registrars. The Departments of the Faculty are headed by Chairpersons. The Faculty has the following Departments;

Egerton University is the premier Agricultural public University in Kenya. It has however, broadened to other areas of research and teaching such as natural resources, applied sciences, education, computer science, medical sciences, education, engineering and business studies.

The University main campus is located at Njoro, about 180 Kms northwest of Nairobi off Njoro-Mau Narok road. The famous Lake Nakuru, the home of beautiful lesser flamingoes is only 27 Kms away. The Nakuru Town Campus College is the other campus and is non-residential.

The University has 3 constituent Colleges which are; Kisii University College, Laikipia University College and Chuka University College. These are autonomous except for using the Senate of Egerton University.

Why Egerton is the University of choice for you.

  • Excellent academic programmes.
  • Best Lecturers.
  • Best electronic library resources.
  • Excellent laboratories.
  • Accommodation for international students.
  • Best environment for learning, away from any pollution, green atmosphere which is good for studies.
  • Excellent recreational facilities.
  • Excellent Campus security.

Opportunities for Scholarships
There are opportunities for scholarships, but limited to excellent students. There is also a work study programme whereby needy students are given work for pay to support them financially.

You are welcome to join the Egerton University community and enjoy what it offers, as you make your valuable contribution to its growth.

Egerton University Degree Programs :


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Science Rehabilitation Medicine SSP only.
  • Bachelor of Foods Nutrition & Dietetics
  • MBBS
  • Master Degree
  • M.Sc. in Foods Nutrition & Dietetics.
  • M.Sc. in Health Services Management
  • Diploma Programmes
  • Diploma in Clinical Medicine and Surgery.


  • Diploma Programmes
  • Diploma in Nursing (conversion programme

Public Health

  • Master Degree
  • M.Sc. in of Public Health

Contact Details

Address: PO Box 536
20115 Rift Valley


254 (51) 2217891/2

Find Your Degree!

News Letter Subscribe

Subscribe to the subject Egerton University