Am a Owner

Kenyatta University

Region: Nairobi Country: Kenya

Short History of Kenyatta University
Kenyatta University is situated about 23 kilometres from the city of Nairobi on the Nairobi-Thika dual carriageway on 1,100 acres of land. The long journey to University status started in 1965 when the British Government handed over the Templer Barracks to the Kenya Government. These were converted into an institution of higher learning known as Kenyatta College. Initially, Kenyatta College was divided into two sections, the Secondary Education Division (SED) and the Teacher Education Division (TED).

The Secondary Education Division had classes from Form I to Form VI. Forms I and IV and the Advanced level Arts classes were phased out in 1969 to give way to seven Advanced level Science classes which earned the institution high reputation for its excellent performance in the Advanced level examinations. It became the main supplier of undergraduates in Science oriented courses at the University of Nairobi where they performed extremely well. The Secondary Education Division was phased out in 1973.

The first courses offered in the Teacher Education Division in 1965 were the three-year Post-Ordinary level Secondary Teachers Certificate [SI and a one-year post-Advanced Secondary Teachers Certificate (SA)].

Following an Act of Parliament of 1970, Kenyatta College became a constituent College of the University of Nairobi. Consequently, the name changed from Kenyatta College to Kenyatta University College. It admitted its first batch of 200 students in 1972 to pursue studies leading to the award of the Bachelor of Education degree of the University of Nairobi. Due to these developments, SI and SA. Teachers Certificate courses were phased out by 1975 to give way to the Bachelor of Education degree prgramme and a two-year undergraduate Diploma in Education programme.

The Diploma programme was implemented to alleviate an acute shortage of Science and special subjects (Kiswahili, Music, Fine Art etc.) teachers in the Secondary Schools. There were insufficient number of students with degree entry qualifications and no degree programmes existed then in some of those areas. In July, 1978, the Government transferred the Faculty of Education of the University of Nairobi to Kenyatta University College Campus. As a result, the College became the only institution training teachers at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

The University status was achieved on August 23, 1985, when the Kenyatta University Act received Presidential assent making the Institution a full - fledged University. The Act became operational on September 1, 1985 and the new University was inaugurated on December 17, 1985. Kenyatta University immediately started establishing new Faculties and constituent colleges. In this pursuit, Jomo Kenyatta College of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) became a constituent College of Kenyatta University in 1988 before becoming a full fledged university.

Regional Centers
Kenyatta University has eight regional centres administered by the Institute of Distance, Open and e- Learning (ODeL). The centers offer both academic and administrative support to students taking open learning/distance education programmes. The centres are located in:

  • Mombasa
  • Nairobi
  • Embu
  • Nyeri
  • Garissa
  • Nakuru
  • Kisumu
  • Kakamega

Kenyatta University is accredited to the following:

  • Kenya Commisssion for Higher Education
  • Inter-university Council for East Africa
  • Africa Association of Universities
  • International Association of Universities
  • Commonwealth Universities.

Kenyatta University Degree Programs :


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelorof Science (Environmental Health)
  • MBBS


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Science Nursing


  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy

Public Health

  • Bachelor Degree
  • Bachelor of Science Public Health

Video Presentation

Kenyatta University Graduation

Recognition for one's efforts in improving the human race, especially by scholars, is one of life's best achievements. And it cannot get better if you have prevailed over difficult circumstances to achieve your goals. Today, that dream came true for three Kenyans, public civil service head, Ambassador Francis Muthaura, Royal Media Services Chairman S K Macharia and the Chairman of the Kenya Agricultural Research Institute Board Professor Onesmo Ole Moyoi. The three were awarded honorary degrees during the 31st graduation ceremony of Kenyatta University.

Contact Details

Address: P.O. Box 43844-00100


254 20 8710901, +254 20 871162

Find Your Degree!

News Letter Subscribe

Subscribe to the subject Kenyatta University