Am a Owner

Olabisi Onabanjo University

Region: Ago-Iwoye Country: Nigeria

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, is a state-owned and -operated university in Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State Nigeria. The university was founded July 7, 1982 as Ogun State University and was renamed Olabisi Onabanjo University on May 29, 2001 in honour of a great citizen of the state, Chief (Dr.) Olabisi Onabanjo, whose efforts as the then civilian governor of Ogun State gave birth to the university.

Since its inception, Olabisi Onabanjo University has had the privilege of ranking among the best universities in Nigeria. The university has a reputation for providing sound quality education to its students which prepares them for 'the real world' outside the university walls. The university, since its inception in 1982, has had a total output of 10,291 graduates and 1,697 postgraduates who are currently making their mark globally.

The university is operated on a multiple-campus basis. The Main Campus in Ago-Iwoye is popularly called Permanent Site (PS) by the students and a Mini Campus which is home to the Science Department. Agriculture is in Aiyetoro, Engineering is in Ibogun, Medicine is in Shagamu, Mass Communication in Ijebu-Igbo and Pharmacy and Biochemistry in Ikenne.

The university is undergoing some reforms and restructuring. Some alumni have started doing responsible things for the school, e.g., there is now an e-library, new accounting department block, new law library, law clinic, a moot court, a senate building (under construction). The university is privileged to have the best law, medicine, sciences and other degree programmes in Nigeria.

The governor of the state is doing his best to develop OOU to an international standard. Before 2020, OOU will be ranked among the best five universities in the world. This is its vision statement.

Students and alumni of the Olabisi Onabanjo University are addressed as 'Great OSUITES.' This term usually gives a feeling of belonging to both the addresser and addressee.

The university has greatly contributed in the development of the primary local government of Ago-Iwoye.

Notable alumni
Amongst the alumni of Olabisi Onabanjo University are:

  • Ann Suinner, former MBGN
  • Ibrahim Bio, minister
  • Weird MC, rapper
  • Debola Ogunseye, football player
  • fifehanmiBANKOLE, Harvard University-certified Consultant, Life Coach and Social Enterpreneur
  • Akindele Ogundiran, business maverick and industrialist
  • Olawale Olugbenga Oyeneye - Software Engineer in the UK
  • Victor Oniyire, Human Resource specialist
  • Olabowale Odusote, senior Crown Prosecutor in the UK
  • Omoba Oladele Osinuga, International Criminal Lawyer
  • Femi Okutubo Media Mogul, Enterpreneur, Economist, Motivational Speaker, Master of Ceremony.
  • Diamond Anamali - Director Logistics BEMS Limited

Excellentia Humana Et. Patriae Opus (The Flowering of Human Abilities and Service to the Fatherland).

The University is located at Ago - Iwoye in Ogun State with campuses spread over the State. The Health Sciences and Phamacy are at Ikenne and Sagamu (Remo Campus), College of Engineering and Technology is located at Ibogun, (Egba Campus) Faculties of Law and Science located at the Mini Campus Ago - Iwoye, and the Main Campus is housing the University Central Administration and Faculties of The Social Sciences, Education, Arts and Management Sciences at Ago - Iwoye (Ijebu Campus), while College of Agricultural Sciences is located in Ayetoro (Yewa Campus)

In addition to these Faculties and Colleges, the University has a number of academic and service oriented units, including the General Studies Unit (GNS), the Sports Centre, Institute of Education, Institute of Transport Studies, Centre for Sandwich Programmes (CESAP), Centre for Gender Studies among others.

In all, the University has produced over 20,000 graduates and diplomates since its establishment. These sets of graduates span a wide variety of disciplines and are making waves in all spheres of life. At the begining, the University was lucky to have a selfless and committed Governing Council headed by Prof. Akin L. Mabogunje, a former Dean of the Faculty of the Social Sciences, University of Ibadan with Late Prof. John Olubi Sodipo as the Vice-Chancellor while, Chief Nathaniel O.Sotoyinbo was the Registrar, Mr B.B. Onigbinde was the Bursar and Chief Mrs Laide Soyinka was the University Librarian.

Olabisi Onabanjo University Degree Programs :


  • Bachelor Degree
  • MBBS
  • Master Degree
  • MD Anaesthesiology
  • MD Anatomy
  • MD Biochemistry
  • MD Community Medicine
  • MD Dermatology
  • MD Emergency Medicine
  • MD General Medicine
  • MD Microbiology
  • MD Paediatrics
  • MD Pathology
  • MD Pharmacology
  • MD Physiology
  • MD Psychiatry
  • MD Radiodiagnosis
  • MD Skin & V.D
  • MD TB & Chest Diseases
  • MS Anatomy
  • MS ENT
  • MS General Surgery
  • MS Ophthalmology
  • MS Orthopaedics


  • Bachelor Degree
  • B.Pharm. (Bachelor of Pharmacy)
  • Master Degree
  • M.Pharm

Video Presentation

Olabisi Onabanjo University

The students of OOU (Olabisi Onabanjo University) now find an easy transportation means to their campus, after the hike in price that greeted the fuel subsidy removal saga as the new park now transport them to the school premises on a very low and affordable cost.

Contact Details

Address: PMB 2002, Ago Iwoye, 23437 Ogun State


234 (37) 390463

Find Your Degree!

News Letter Subscribe

Subscribe to the subject Olabisi Onabanjo University